Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » DISCO » DJ's / Remixers

Post subject: THE HISTORY OF THE DJ & HIS TECHNOLOGY...
 Post Posted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 8:02 pm 

English physician and naturalist Thomas Young, records vibrations of a tuning fork on a rotating drum covered with wax. There was no way at the time to play this recording back.

The phonoautograph is developed by French Researcher Leon Scott de Martinville. The device translates air pressure fluctuations caused by sound into a wavy line on a sooty surface by means of a large horn, a diaphragm and a pig's hair. This transcript, recorded on a rotating cylinder, is, however, unable to replay sound.

Another Frenchman, Charles Cros, draws up plans for a machine that not only has the ability to record sound but also to reproduce it. Cros, an artist and a poet could not be taken seriously enough by financiers. The plans were left on the shelf.

Self taught success story Thomas Edison is experimenting with a new telegraph devise when he accidentally runs indented tin foil under a stylus. By the end of the year Edison has produced the first working phonograph able to 'store' and playback sound.

The first piece of recorded sound - Edison recites "Mary had a little lamb"

An improved rival phonograph is invented by Chichester Bell and Charles Tainter at the Volta laboratories they call the machine the "Graphophone" and utilise a wax coated cylinder incised with vertical-cut grooves.

The Invention of the Theremin was invented by Leon Theremin (Lev Sergeivitch Termen).The Theremin is considered the predecessor to the Moog Synthesizer. It is unique in that it is the first musical instrument that can be played without being touched.

Electrical amplification (the microphone) was introduced. This invention forced engineers to re-design reproducers. The Victor Company's answer to this revolution in sound was the Orthophonic Sound Box, which was very sensitive to high and low frequencies.